Interruptible

photo by Josh Scholten

“We must be ready to allow ourselves to be interrupted by God.”
― Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I’ve worked hard in my professional life to be interruptible;  my patients, colleagues and staff need to be able to stop my momentum at any time to ask a question, get an opinion or redirect my attention to something more important.  As a physician, it is crucial that I remain prioritized from outside my field of vision as I don’t always know where I’m needed most.

In my personal life, I struggle with interruptions happening outside my control.  I feel imposed upon when things don’t flow as I hoped or planned– after all,  this is MY life.

God interrupts.  God interferes.  God intervenes.  God intrudes.  God intercedes.

As He must. And I must be ready, accepting, answering His grace with grace.

It is HIS life living within me, His plan, His timing, His priorities.

Not mine.

Never mine.

2 thoughts on “Interruptible

  1. Right on, Dr. Em! I, who likes to think I am in control of my life, watched door after door after door close on my professional career as God put me on His timetable, not mine. Could it be that He knew where I most needed to be, perhaps for His loving shelter?

Leave a Reply

