All Things Frail and Imperiled

photo by Josh Scholten

photo by Josh Scholten

photo by Josh Scholten

photo by Josh Scholten

“This thistle seed I pour
is for the tiny birds.
This ritual,
for all things frail
and imperiled.
Wings surround me, frothing
the air. I am struck
by what becomes holy.

A woman
who lost her teenage child
to an illness without mercy,
said that at the end, her daughter
sat up in her hospital bed
and asked:
What should I do?
What should I do?

I carry the woman with the lost child
in my pocket, where she murmurs
her love song without end:
Just this, each day:
Bear yourself up on small wings
to receive what is given.
Feed one another
with such tenderness,
it could almost be an answer.”
~Marcia F. Brown from “Morning Song”

photo by Josh Scholten

photo by Josh Scholten

2 thoughts on “All Things Frail and Imperiled

  1. Emily, this poem is so profound as to be sacred. Reminds me a little of the Beatitudes. Only a mind filled with the Holy Spirit can think these thoughts.

  2. I am always in awe of the very private sharings you give us and I humbly accept the teachings . Peggy in eastern Wash .

Leave a Reply

