For My Returning

photo by Josh Scholten
photo by Josh Scholten

The spider, dropping down from twig,
Unfolds a plan of her devising,
A thin premeditated rig
To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,
In cool descent and loyal hearted,
She spins a ladder to the place
From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do
In spider’s web a truth discerning,
Attach one silken thread to you
For my returning.
~E.B. White  A Spider’s Web (A Natural History)

Attached in ways I can not always see
but surely feel,
I go astray,
wander afar,
lose my way,
yet the thread remains
to return me
to where I belong.
A silken umbilical cord
continues to pump
what I need to be alive,
anchoring me,
releasing me without letting go.
My soul hangs
by this gossamer thread,
this silken connection
to eternity.
photo by Josh Scholten
photo by Josh Scholten
Till the bridge you will need be form’d, till the ductile anchor hold,
Till the gossamer thread you fling catch somewhere, O my soul.
~Walt Whitman from “A Noiseless Patient Spider”

One thought on “For My Returning

  1. My heart understands exactly what you are saying here, beautiful woman. Thank you.
    Jesus’ mercy and care for us is truly astounding, is it not? I think we know subconsciously that the gossamer thread
    is always there. Yet, in our human way, we often tend to take it (and Him) for granted. But He is always faithful.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.