To Open the Door

garagelock

Poetry is the opening and closing of a door,
leaving those who look through to guess
about what is seen during the moment.
~Carl Sandburg

Be an opener of doors for such as come after thee.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I seek to unbar the door,
open it a little wider each day
for those who want to look inside
before it is locked up tight
for the night.

One thought on “To Open the Door

  1. This is a lovely description of poetry – one of my favorite literary forms that I began to read and appreciate just a few years ago.
    Your words, Emily, immediately recalled for me the following quote from Revelation 3:20 NRSV:
    “…I am standing at the door, knocking; if you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in…”.
    When I was confirmed, my grandmother gave me a picture showing Jesus knocking on the door. In that particular picture, there was no handle on the outside. It was on the inside!

    Like

Leave a Reply

