Turning 60

at twenty

A birthday re-post !

 

At dusk, everything blurs and softens…

The horse bears me along, like grace,
making me better than what I am,
and what I think or say or see
is whole in these moments, is neither
small nor broken.  Who then
is better made to say be well, be glad,

or who to long that we, as one,
might course over the entire valley,
over all valleys, as a bird in a great embrace
of flight, who presses against her breast,
in grief and tenderness,
the whole weeping body of the world?
~Linda McCarriston from “Riding Out At Evening”

Remembering three score of younger birthdays on my 60th today~~

What I think or say or see is whole
in these tender moments
of my lengthening life
in this weeping world:

I am so glad to be so well.

as a yearling

at age two with Nancy holding baby Steve along with the Schmitz cousins

age 6 with the kindergarten car pool crowd

age 8

age nine

age 16

age 25

11 thoughts on “Turning 60

  1. Today?? Is it today? Mine too! (I have 8 years on you though..lol) No wonder I like your blog! Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Happy natal day! Pics are cute. Couldn’t identify you in two of the shots. You are just a kid, you know. Your love and compassion for all people is a hallmark of your life and your chosen professional career. Both will leave a memorable mark on all whom your life has touched (so far).

    Peace in your heart, and love to a beautiful, inspiring woman….

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday, Emily. Lovely person and lovely pictures. I do enjoy your posts and beautiful pictures.

    Like

  4. Happy birthday Emily! Welcome to the 60’s. Thank you for the beautiful way you share your heart and life with us your extended family and so many others. I am richly blessed to have you as my sister-in-law!. Love, Linda

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday, Emily! My heart-felt wishes for many more years of joy and surprises to come. We do love your posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

