When I Love

wlcdahlia141

clover9281

But what do I love, when I love You? 
not physical bodies,
nor temporal glory,
nor the brightness of the light,
dear to earthly eyes,
nor sweet melodies of varied songs,
nor the fragrant smell of flowers,
and ointments, and spices,
nor manna and honey,
nor limbs welcoming the embracing of flesh.

None of these I love,
when I love my God;
and yet I love a kind of light,
and melody, and fragrance, and food,
and a kind of embrace
when I love my God,
–the light, melody, fragrance, food,
embrace of my inner man:
where my soul is floodlit by light
which space cannot contain,
and there is sound that time cannot seize,
and there is fragrance which no breeze disperses,
and there is a taste for food no amount of eating can lessen,
and there is a bond of union that no satiety can part.
This is it what I love when I love my God.
~Augustine in Confessions

thistledown105

sunset101514

sunset1015141

One thought on “When I Love

  1. Thank you for posting Augustine’s beautiful thoughts here. I read portions of his Confessions many years ago as part of a class assignment, but the entire work is so full of such beauty and soul food that it should be referred to often. Times have changed since the Fourth Century certainly, but the import of his words have not. They are still fresh and very much germane to our needs and our search for God today — for He IS the ‘other,’ the only ONE who can that complete us and satisfy our soul’s needs .

    What you have posted for us here today, Emily, makes me want to express in writing and in prayer my own truth about how and why I love God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

