Swift Autumn

sunrise1142

photo by Nate Gibson
photo by Nate Gibson

 

Down to the Puritan marrow of my bones
There’s something in this richness that I hate.
I love the look, austere, immaculate,
Of landscapes drawn in pearly monotones.
There’s something in my very blood that owns
Bare hills, cold silver on a sky of slate,
A thread of water, churned to milky spate
Streaming through slanted pastures fenced with stones.
I love those skies, thin blue or snowy gray,
Those fields sparse-planted, rendering meagre sheaves;
That spring, briefer than apple-blossom’s breath,
Summer, so much too beautiful to stay,
Swift autumn, like a bonfire of leaves,
And sleepy winter, like the sleep of death.
~Elinor Wylie from “Wild Peaches”
firstsnow
easternlandscape2
sunrise8303
dawn7253
sunset11284

One thought on “Swift Autumn

  1. Though I didn’t know her (she departed eighteen years before I arrived), I’m sure Elinor Wylie would love this montage. And what a contrast—the vibrant Pacific Northwest to austere New England. Bravo Barnstorming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

