Shades of Graying

Featuring fifty shades of farm gray

shadesofgray

grayfencedrops

graylichen

I could weep for a quiet love like this, the kind of love they don’t write movies about, but the Maker writes down in a book of His own.
It’s not the kind of flashy that makes any red carpet, but it’s the kind of unforgettable love that runs red.
It doesn’t matter one iota what the checkout glossies tout: Sacrifice is the most attractive of all.
And boring love is what touches the deepest– our lives boring down deep into each other’s hearts.
And I have loved you as the hero-of-few-words who has rescued me day in and day out, without any fanfare or flash.
You have lived and bore the weight of it —- I am far worse than I ever dreamed.
And yet you have loved me beyond what I could ever dream.
You have lived Gospel to me.
~Ann Voskamp  from aholyexperience.com

fogsun

graywebdesign

grayfencelichen

grayasphalt

grayknobs

On a day celebrated for honoring Love,
I grieve that women — mothers and daughters
who know nothing of slavery,
who know nothing but freedom,
seek out and pay out
for a fantasy of seduction,
blinded and bound by books and movie
that have nothing to do
with honor or love.

Give me boring gray love rich in so many shades:
love that bores deep into the other’s heart
and stays,
enduring,
before, throughout and beyond the gray.

The shades of gray in my life
will not be covered with dye and make believe,
but celebrated as reflecting
love not forsaken,
not for any one
or any reason.

We declare it to all who are to come after.

graybark2

graybarn

grayappletrunk

graybark3

grayfencetop

Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, my God,
till I declare your power to the next generation,
your mighty acts to all who are to come.
Psalm 71:18

graybark6

graybark4

graybarndoor

grayfoundationcrack

grayladder2

grayladder

graylichen1

graymaple

graymirror

grayshingles

barebranchesgrayrocks4

 

graybolt

graypeeling

grayfencelichen2

graykindling

grayreflection

grayrocks

graymaplecenter

graysiding

graylichen3

graypoplar

graystonefrog

graywall

graywalnutscars

grayswing

graytreehouse

grayplum

graymapletree

graywalnutbark

graystairs

graywall2

graystonepile

grayroofing

graystump

graystonewall

graywebdesign1

6 thoughts on “Shades of Graying

  1. This kind of grey (and Gray, our cat) I like. I am boycotting the movie and wouldn’t read the book. I heard on the news that one woman in UK is asking women to boycott the movie and give ticket amount to local domestic violence shelters.

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Like

  2. The best, we know, is yet to be/So take your brush and brush with me/And when we’re done we’ll match them up/side-by-side inside their cup/ With worn, stray whiskers falling out/and torsos creamed in toothpaste grout/their slender bodies head-to-head/embrace all day in porcelain bed/These lucky brushes so entwined/dream not of place less divine/and never part save when we hold/Along with us, they’re growing old.” -“Ode to Our Toothbrushes” (1995)

    Like

Leave a Reply

