Let the Tears Flow

whitehearts

People have said, “Don’t cry” to other people for years and years, and all it has ever meant is, “I’m too uncomfortable when you show your feelings.  Don’t cry.”  I’d rather have them say, “Go ahead and cry.  I’m here to be with you.”

~Mister Fred Rogers

I am a crier, no question about it, whether it is listening to the old “whistle” theme from the Lassie TV show, or watching any children’s choir sing.  Certain hymns will always trigger tears, and of course, baptisms, weddings, and graduations. Yesterday was joyfully tear-filled, with our youngest child receiving her college degree.

Tears don’t bother me, whether it is my own or someone else’s.  My office and exam rooms are well- stocked with tissues, and one of my routine mental health history questions is “when did you last have a good cry?”   Some patients will look at me blankly, not sure they ever remember crying, and others will burst into tears at the mere suggestion.

No matter what the reason for tears, it is a powerful expression of feeling, like a smile or a grimace.  I watch for those cues and sometimes can feel the emotion as surely as if it were my own.

I am with you.  And always intend to be.

image

 

 

7 thoughts on “Let the Tears Flow

  1. Dear Emily,

    Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation!

    The mere mention of the late Fred Rogers is enough to bring me close to tears. He left us with a wonderful legacy and I still have his books and booklets on my shelves to loan to others. 🙂

    Is the tendency of putting away our elders in homes and the removal of death from the routine of our lives the source of society’s “Don’t cry” admonition?

    Every blessing, always … Brian

    Like

  2. Congratulations to your daughter and to you! I use to be ashamed of crying so easily but as time goes on I am not ashamed anymore.

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Emily, to you and your family, and especially to your daughter. This is big accomplishment and milestone! Tears are a blessing, but how wonderful when they are tears of joy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

