Resting in a Keeping Not My Own

treehousesunset

dawn7250

These glowing leaves made of the light a place
That time and light would leave.  The wind came cool,
And then I knew that I was present in
The long age of the passing world, in which
I once was not, now am, and will not be,
And in that time, beneath the changing tree,
I rested in a keeping not my own.
~Wendell Berry from “The Sky Bright after Summer-Ending Rain”

How briefly we stay here, mere shadows,
how transient our breath and pulse,
knowing all that was, or is, or will be
rests in You, abides in You, is kept by You.

 

dawn7254

shadowself

3 thoughts on “Resting in a Keeping Not My Own

  1. “It is only in appearance that time is a river. It is rather a vast landscape and it is the eye of the beholder that moves.” -Thorton Wilder

    Like

  2. Wow, I am so thankful to have found you!! I love the pictures, I love the words…thank you so much and keep doing this!!! I am a poet at heart and in writing myself so this is a gem for me…. shining brightly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

