Between Two Unknowns

barndoor15

barnribbons

 

Between two unknowns, I live my life.
Between my mother’s hopes, older than I am
by coming before me, and my child’s wishes, older than I am
by outliving me.  And what’s it like?
Is it a door, and good-bye on either side?
A window, and eternity on either side?
Yes, and a little singing between two great rests.
~Li Young Lee from “The Hammock”

 

And so I hang in the speckled shade of this life,
swinging and singing…

11049454_10206874326635849_5096319364598897086_n
photo by Lea Gibson (in her new hammock)

 

dogged3

One thought on “Between Two Unknowns

Leave a Reply

