Building the Universe

Posting it again so it shows up where it belongs! Sorry for the duplication.

Barnstorming

sunrise85152

grasses716151

On a summer morning
I sat down
on a hillside
to think about God –
a worthy pastime.

Near me, I saw
a single cricket;
it was moving the grains of the hillside
this way and that way.

How great was its energy,
how humble its effort.

Let us hope
it will always be like this,
each of us going on
in our inexplicable ways
building the universe.

~Mary Oliver “Song of the Builders”

I should watch more than build,
think more about God and how He is building me
than try to change His universe.
Like the sunrise this morning
with its line of demarcation
between what is lit and what is not yet,
I’m a work in progress,
waiting to be fully in the Son.

sunrise85154

grass71615

sunflower

View original post

One thought on “Building the Universe

  1. Hi Emily,I am a near 60 year old gal that God sent your way recently. I am taken by your words and feel seated next to Jesus when I read them. Thank you for the time you put into creating an encouraging blog that includes nature. As I am not able to have indoor furry kids anymore I have been enjoying our snapping turtle we named Headly and the variety of fish in our pond. When Headly and the fish here us outside they go to the designated feeding spot in a hurry! Imagine little ripples of water moving our way. The snapper seems content to share with his fish friends too, at least while I am there! Well it’s time to explore more of your writings, your Sister in Christ, Connie

    Like

Leave a Reply

