Sustained by Goodbye

wwurockcirclenatetomomi

You can kiss your family and friends good-bye and put miles between you, but at the same time you carry them with you in your heart, your mind, your stomach, because you do not just live in a world but a world lives in you.
~ Frederick Buechner

Once again we bid goodbye.  It never gets easier to part from one’s family members when their calling is far away.

I began writing regularly 14 years ago to consider more deeply my time left on this earth and what my family meant to me, here and now, and for eternity.

Family is carried inside the words I write without my often writing about them directly.  They inspire and challenge me, they love and stretch me, and as our children have now gone out into the world, two now married,  I am assured they are sustained by what they have carried away from this home.

Life is not just about living in the world but what world you carry deep inside.   We can never really be lonely;  our hearts will never be empty.  We have each other forever, even miles and miles and lifetimes apart.

I sustain myself with the love of family.
― Maya Angelou

 

natetomomi8115

tomomisunset82152

5 thoughts on “Sustained by Goodbye

  1. your words keep ringing true. our kids and their families are within half a day’s drive, and we will be all together again this week, celebrating birthdays and relationship. what they learned, they now pass on to theirs, and i tear at that, counting our continuing graces. my husband writes memoirs, a cousin collects genealogy, the blessings flow, and our hearts are so full.

    Like

  2. Might the other side of the coin be “Surprised by Hello”? My daughter Ali and son-in-law Jeff just celebrated their 9th anniversary, and I can’t help smiling when I remember the original phone call: “Hi Dad, I’m in Chicago. We’re on our way to Vegas to get married (by a minister/Elvis impersonator, as it turned out) and after that we’re moving to Vermont. Want to talk to Jeff?” Ooooookay….

    Like

  3. Thank you, Emily. Your reflection this morning really touch me, at times our worlds due appear vast and distant, but our very close as they live in our heart.

    Like

  4. A lovely, bittersweet reminder that it is the family unit that sustains us in its love, caring, continuity and
    connectedness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

