A Soft Place to Look Back On

abovethenooksack

bakerhighway2

a leisurely walk
through the fields near the house – two friends
who haven’t seen each other for over a year,
Much later they will remember only a color,
a golden yellow, and the sound of their feet
scuffling the leaves. A day without rancor
or angry words, the sort of day that builds a life,
becoming a soft place to look back on,
and geese, geese flying south out of winter.
~Stephen Dobyns from “The Music One Looks Back On”

 

As I look back through my mind’s eye,
I remember days that soften in memory
through their color~
the pinks of an early winter sunrise
the greens of springtime pastures
the blues of a mountain lake
the oranges of a fiery sunset
the browns of freshly tilled earth
the whites of a snowfall
the reds of summer heat
the grays of ever present rain clouds
but am enriched by the treasure
of the gold of autumn
as it descends and settles
to cushion my remaining steps.

abovethenooksack2

bakerhighway

sunset1122147

5 thoughts on “A Soft Place to Look Back On

  1. Thanks. Lovely words and images. Where I live I mark the passing of the day by the honking geese ( so preferable to the jets that used to roar overhead in my old home).

    Like

  2. I have just discovered your blog and am delighted. Someone who loves poetry as much I I do! Thank you for the beautiful words and beautiful images.

    Like

Leave a Reply

