Holding Up All This Falling

,octleaves4

tjoelkertree2

sunrise102115

 

The leaves are falling, falling as if from far up,
as if orchards were dying high in space.
Each leaf falls as if it were motioning “no.”
And tonight the heavy earth is falling
away from all other stars in the loneliness.
We’re all falling. This hand here is falling.
And look at the other one. It’s in them all.
And yet there is Someone, whose hands
infinitely calm, holding up all this falling.
~Rainer Maria Rilke “Autumn” translated by Robert Bly

 

 

Sometimes I wake from my sleep
with a palpitating start:
dreaming of falling,
my body pitching and tumbling
yet somehow I land,
~oh so softly~
in my bed,
my fear quashed and cushioned by
awaking safe.

I feel caught up,
held tightly,
rescued amid the fall
we all will do,
like leaves drifting down
from heaven’s orchard,
like seeds released like kisses
into the air,
the earth rises to meet me
and Someone cradles me there.

 

leaningtoweroffidalgo

scanlonwindown

octleaf15

sosoft2

 

5 thoughts on “Holding Up All This Falling

  1. Dear Emily: I am viewing your beautiful photography through Ann Voskamp’s site. I love them. My husband and I just bought an old house and barn that we are restoring and the picture of the inside of your barn looks so much like ours. I am just starting to blog about our restoration process so I am learning how much comments mean. So glad to have found your site. God bless…. Cheryl Acuna at thenoahfarm.blogspot

    Like

Leave a Reply

