I Greet Him

sunset5251

sunset92horses

clouds101143

I kiss my hand
To the stars, lovely-asunder
Starlight, wafting him out of it; and
Glow, glory in thunder;
Kiss my hand to the dappled-with-damson west;
Since, though he is under the world’s splendor and wonder,
His mystery must be instressed, stressed;
For I greet him the days I meet him, and bless when I understand.
~Gerard Manley Hopkins from “The Wreck of the Deutschland”

I greet Him when I meet Him
as the color of the evening sky
spills out as tipped paint
far fleeting across the horizon,
cleaned up and gone before grasped,
I kiss my hand
to the drama played out before sun is set.

I greet Him when I meet Him
as starlight speckles
the overhead ceiling,
each touching infinity
where it begins
and never ends.

I greet Him when I meet Him
in glowing cloud mountains
sparking lightning
and clapping thunder,
applause for His
resplendent magnificence.

I greet Him when
He is hidden
mysterious
unknown and unknowable,
waiting for the blessing
of understanding
wafting from Him
in color, in speckle,
in glow, in spark,
in appreciative applause
for His splendor
wrapped in wonder.

sunset1031151

sunset1181

3 thoughts on “I Greet Him

  1. “…waiting for the blessing of understanding wafting from Him…”
    What pure sweetness and caring is implied in that consoling thought. I think that we sometimes think of God
    only in terms of judgment and ‘fear’ (awe) and we are the poorer for it because that concept tends to limit
    our understanding of His unfathomable love for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

