The Necklace of Days

 

east103115

bluejay photo by Josh Scholten
bluejay photo by Josh Scholten

sunset1031153

It is a dark fall day.
The earth is slightly damp with rain.
I hear a jay.
The cry is blue.
I have found you in the story again.
Is there another word for “divine”?
I need a song that will keep sky open in my mind.
If I think behind me, I might break.
If I think forward, I lose now.
Forever will be a day like this
Strung perfectly on the necklace of days.
Slightly overcast
Yellow leaves
Your jacket hanging in the hallway
Next to mine.
~Joy Harjo “Fall Song”

 

In the string of fall days,
each differs from the one before
and the one that comes after,
a transitional linkage to winter
at once gradual and unrelenting.
If I were to try to stop time,
hold tight a particular moment,
this necklace of days would break and scatter,
as the connection depends
on what was before
what is now
and what is to come.

eveningveterans

evening1151512

aleaf5

mudroom

6 thoughts on “The Necklace of Days

  1. i hold tight to those moments again as i fall asleep, cherishing them through the years as they bubble up. you are such a splendid word smith…thanks for touching me in sight and thought!

    Like

  2. Beautiful, Emily.
    Proves that one picture (the coat rack) surely can be worth a thousand words, especially if one has a knowing heart full of love to interpret it.
    (Permit me to be a little jealous — I have never known a human love like that.)

    Like

  3. It’s suddenly winter here today…6-8 inches of snow have covered the scattered leaves. Lovely words and photos; i especially admire the blue jay!

    Like

  4. Your poems and photographs prick open a worship I forget is in me. I thank you for that. I wonder if it is okay with you if I paint some of your photographs. I am not published or known or anything, it will likely only be for me or my family. Is this alright with you? -Kellie Kraxberger

    On Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 7:25 AM, Barnstorming wrote:

    > briarcroft posted: ” It is a dark fall day. The earth is slightly damp > with rain. I hear a jay. The cry is blue. I have found you in the story > again. Is there another word for “divine”? I need a song that will keep sky > open in my mind. “

    Like

  5. certainly Kellie, I know several people who enjoy painting some of these photographs and I think that is just as wonderful as writing poems around them!
    Blessings, Emily

    Like

Leave a Reply

