To See Days Pass

baker112115

morningfrost112115

For some reason we like to see days pass, even though most of us claim we don’t want to reach our last one for a long time. We examine each day before us with barely a glance and say, no, this isn’t one I’ve been looking for, and wait in a bored sort of way for the next, when we are convinced, our lives will start for real. Meanwhile, this day is going by perfectly well-adjusted, as some days are, with the right amounts of sunlight and shade, and a light breeze scented with a perfume made from the mixture of fallen apples, corn stubble, dry oak leaves, and the faint odor of last night’s meandering skunk.
~Tom Hennen from “The Life of a Day”

 

I am ashamed to admit I squander time,
waiting for that day I’ve been looking for,
tossing off these precious hours
as somehow not measuring up.
The shock is
there have been over twenty years
of such days on this farm,
one passing by after another,
and every single one are exactly what I’m looking for.
Life started for real over sixty years ago
and I’m the only one who can live it out.

geesenorth

evening1119153

november111915

sunset112315

cloudmountain6

4 thoughts on “To See Days Pass

  1. Oh, every word of this resonates. Yes. The shame of having squandered and the shock of all that’s gone by. And that photograph of the birds lit by the sun (rising? setting?) made me gasp because I’ve been trying to put words to watching birds, bellies lit by the first rays of the morning sun, the other morning. Kindred. xox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this. There is a song by Colin Haye ” Waiting for My Real Life To Begin”
    that resonates so deeply with what you are sharing . As a care provider to my son who has an acquired brain injury I often do feel like life has been suspended indefinitely . I think we all need to breathe & live each moment more fully as opposed to ” getting through the day ” . I pray God help us all do this on earth until we reach the home He ‘s prepared for us . Be blessed & thanks again for your wisdom !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently was listening to a song that captured my heart. I have had such a time with that. It was titled Satisfied. It brought me to examining my life and when I do I am humbled of how far God has brought me. Oh- so darn more to go….

    Like

Leave a Reply

