Never Poet Enough

mosslight

mushrooms1031151

sunsetthorn1

If your everyday life seems poor to you, do not accuse it; accuse yourself, tell yourself you are not poet enough to summon up its riches; since for the creator there is no poverty and no poor or unimportant place.
― Rainer Maria Rilke

As a child, I would sometimes spend long rainy afternoons languishing on the couch, complaining to my mother how boring life seemed.  Her typical response was to remind me my boredom said more about me than about life – I became the accused, rather than the accuser,  failing to summon up life’s riches.  Thus convicted, my sentence followed:  she would promptly give me chores to do.  I learned not to voice my complaints about life was treating me because it always meant work.

Some things haven’t changed all these decades later.  Whenever I am tempted to feel pitiful or bored, accusing my life of being poor or unfair, I need to remember what my accusation says about me.  If I’m not poet enough to celebrate the gilded edge of the plain and ordinary, if I’m not poet enough to articulate beauty even in the sharp thorns of life, if I’m not poet enough to recognize the Creator’s brilliance in every molecule, then it is my poverty I’m accusing, not His, and a poet I will never be.

So it’s back to work then.
There is a world to admire, a life to be lived and yes, poems to be written.

willowtree2

maplewings

raindropreflect

3 thoughts on “Never Poet Enough

  1. Well said. Thank you fof the reminder to look around, appreciate our blessings and the beauty that surrounds every day. I always enjoy your thoughts and incredible photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes….there may be times when languishing on the couch or staring out of a classroom window receives admonishment from parents and/or teachers — but, they don’t seem to understand that daydreaming is important, too. It is during such productive times that we enrich our imagination as we prepare grist for the mills of our minds….

    Like

Leave a Reply

