Finding the Sacred in Anything

slugcanoodle

 

…anything can be written about. Not because nothing is sacred, but because everything is.
~Billy Coffey

Too much on the internet is “anything goes” because nothing is considered too sacred to be dissected, illustrated, exploited and promoted in as public a way as possible.   Most of it is so cringe-worthy that it feels very risky to click on any unfamiliar link as it may take the viewer into such a dark corner of the web that it feels impossible to escape.  Once an image is seen, it is difficult to erase from the mind’s eye, even this picture of slugs “canoodling” (sorry, but I’ve tried to figure out for over a year how to use this photo on my blog).

My little corner of the web is meant to be a path into the light, instead of a portal into the dark.

Over the years I’ve written about many things that are personal, whether it is mistakes I’ve made, overblown worries, my childhood family’s struggles, my parents’ dissolving marriage, my obsession with garden gnomes, health care controversies, forgiveness, and surprisingly, the page that for years gathered the most visits on my blog: my horse’s bodily functions.

Even horse poop can be seen as sacred…I guess.  At least someone must think so.

Still, some things remain too sacred to be written down, and because I hold them close in my heart, they will stay that way.

 

januarygnomie

 

4 thoughts on “Finding the Sacred in Anything

  1. Barnstorming is a beautiful combination of writing, photography, and sharing–just the right mix of all three, with an emphasis on sharing. As for the things that can’t be written about, I suspect I’m not alone in wondering if you’re considered a novel. Each installment of Barnstorming does, after all, tell us a story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What remains unexposed often drives the exposed. I love that you expose light. That says volumes about who and what is at your core and how what is unexposed is distilled.

    Like

Leave a Reply

