Between Midnight and Dawn: The Darkness Shall be Light

almostdawn32616

Mortals, born of woman,
    are of few days and full of trouble.
They spring up like flowers and wither away;
    like fleeting shadows, they do not endure.
Do you fix your eye on them?

If someone dies, will they live again?
    All the days of my hard service
    I will wait for my renewal to come.
You will call and I will answer you;
  Job 14: 1-3, 14-15

wwupinks12

 

I said to my mind, be still, and wait without hope
For hope would be hope for the wrong thing; wait without love
For love would be love of the wrong thing; yet there is faith
But the faith and the hope and the love are all in the waiting.
Wait without thought, for you are not ready for thought:
So the darkness shall be light, and the stillness the dancing.
~T. S. Eliot, from “East Coker”  The Four Quartets

 

drizzledil4

This in-between day
after all had gone so wrong
before all will go so right,
puts us between the rock
and the hard place:
all hope, love and faith is squeezed from us.
Today we are flattened,
dried like chaff,
ground to pulp,
our destiny with death sealed.

We lie still
as sprinkled spices
try to delay inevitable decay,
wrapped up tight,
stone cold and futile.

A rock placed
so we are caught in between-
entombed, inside,
our bodies like His-
weeping outside,
cut off and left behind.

We cannot know what is to come
in the dawn tomorrow
the stone lifted and rolled,
giving way,
the separation bridged,
darkness overwhelmed by light,
the crushed and broken rising to dance,
and inexplicably,
from the waiting stillness He stirs
and we,
finding death emptied,
are moved.

 

wwuorange

wiserlakesunset

During this Lenten season, I will be drawing inspiration from the new devotional collection edited by Sarah Arthur —Between Midnight and Dawn

2 thoughts on “Between Midnight and Dawn: The Darkness Shall be Light

  1. And now we wait…as we acknowledge and give thanks.for the greatest gift of all….

    Dear Emily, your Lenten posts have touched me, sobered me, humbled me, and brought
    me so much closer to the reality of the Jesus I love and as He is in my life journey.
    Thank you.

    A Blessed Easter to you and your family and to your guests at the annual Gibson sunrise gathering. How I wish I could be there – at least once.

    With love and appreciation for the gift of yourself.
    Alice Farrell LaChapelle
    Albany NY

    Like

  2. These thoughts for remembering that dark Saturday are so beautiful to me because they remind me that separation, darkness, and brokenness were all dealt a fatal blow – and in these days of groaning, waiting for the redemption to be complete, we know that death is empty, but there are so many Saturdays . . .
    Thank you, Emily, for your always-beautiful offerings here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

