Making Scents

fullbloom2

appleblossom316

appleblossom416

I admit it.  Right this minute, I should be doing our taxes.  We’re down to the last minute and I have all the paperwork stacked on the desk beside me, but I’m not doing it.  It is too miserable a task to even contemplate.  Instead I go outside to capture spring.

The last few mornings, when I have risen just before dawn, I have gone outside to breathe deeply of the scents that hang heavy in the cool moist air.  The perfume from thousands of orchard blossoms on our farm is heady and intoxicating.  There is nothing quite like these two weeks each year when our farm becomes a mass of snow white and pink scented flowers, busy with honey bees and eventually showering petals to the ground as the fruit starts to form.

Unfortunately, I’m allergic to tree pollen.  I breathe deeply and… sneeze and wheeze.  Even the best medicine can’t stop my reaction. So much loveliness causes so much misery.  So I retreat back to the house and look out the window and enjoy the view from afar, dabbing my dripping nose.

Ironically, this is the same time of year our dairy farm neighbors start to empty their manure lagoons and begin to spread their thousands of gallons of liquid manure on the surrounding fields, readying the ground for the hay or corn crop to come later on this summer. That scent hangs heavy in the cool moist air as well, pungent and unforgettable, penetrating even into our clothing so we carry the smell back into the house with us.  Of course I’m not allergic to manure.  After all, it’s only grass and water transformed.  In fact, as nasty a smell as it is, it’s invigorating in a perverse sort of way.  I know where it comes from, I know what its potential is, and I know the crop it yields.  It is, in itself, as treasured as the blossoms that yield fruit on our farm.

Taxes are the manure in our lives.  They are pretty stinky too, just like manure, an inevitable part of our daily existence, yet even more onerous.  However, spread out where needed, those collective taxes fertilize and grow our communities, our schools, our roads, our health care (and a few other things we may wish would not be funded).

So I must get to work spreading numbers across my desktop in the hope they may make sense and yield fruit of their own, sometime, somewhere.

The Cents of Spring.

pearblossom2416

appleblossom2416

fullbloom

5 thoughts on “Making Scents

  1. The essence of agriculture — I love it!
    And . . . it’s a shame that taxes have to be a blight on spring, but in what season would we ever want to deal with them?
    Thanks for bringing me along for your spring walk.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful photos, eloquent thoughts! Thank you from Alberta where we haven’t “quite” got blossoms!

    Like

  3. Emily, in your description of manure, the good and bad, reminds me of the opening sentence in Dicken’s “Tale of Two Cities.” “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”
    -Alan

    Like

  4. Praying you can just put a parenthesis around the outdoor tantalizing treats and stay focused on your taxes. Also praying that God will help you sail right through easily and accurately. Blessings to you for your daily country-sharing ministry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

