A Snail’s Huffle

snail2

…who has a controlled sense of wonder before the universal mystery,
whether it hides in a snail’s eye
or within the light that impinges on that delicate organ.
~Loren Eiseley

 

A gastropod brave enough
to cross a busy sidewalk
appeared in no particular rush,
no hurry toward the grassy expanse
on the other side.

The lawn will still be there
whether an hour from now
or tomorrow.
Its waving little snail eyes
see and smell the universal mystery
of the future.

To assure it will not be crushed underfoot
I decided to intervene in history
and gave it a lift
as Someone did for me.

I came, I saw a snail in danger
and barely heard it huffle.
I didn’t need to hear it~
I only needed to see
to do the right thing.

“James gave the huffle of a snail in danger. And nobody heard him at all.”
~A.A.Milne  “When We Were Very Young”

 

snail1

3 thoughts on “A Snail’s Huffle

  1. When I saw your post this morning, the first thought that crossed my heart was a small book I have called The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating written by Elisabeth Tova Bailey. How the gift of a tiny snail brought reconnection with life and a slow healing.
    After reading the post, it brought to mind me, as a small child, squatting down, peering closely at an ant hill; watching the ants bringing in food and working so hard. Thinking I’m so huge to them and God is so huge to me. I’d best not step on them as God is so careful not to step or hurt me. Just thoughts of a small girl as she recognized God’s power and love for His children.

    Love your post! Thanks for your gifts of the heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

