Morning Settles

wwudeer1

morning113158
241802_556812762084_1372663240_o
Perhaps she came down for the apples,
or was flushed out by the saws powering
the far woods, or was simply lost,

or was crossing one open space for another.

She was a figure approaching, a presence
outside a kitchen window, framed
by the leafless apple trees, the stiff blueberry bushes,

the after-harvest corn, the just-before-rain sky,

a shape only narrow bones could hold,

turning its full face upward, head tilted to one side, as if to speak.

I want my life back.

Morning settles around her like a silver coat.
Rustling branches, hooves in flight.
~Philip Terman “Deer Descending”
Who among us does not feel this?

Everything around me changes faster than I can adapt,
trees topple
marriages shatter
illness overwhelms

I am lost
trying to find my way out
trying to find my way back.

I look for Who will take a moment to listen.
I need Refuge where I may rest safe.
I seek Sanctuary where I may settle in peace,
like a new morning.
I want my life back.
ahmama
IMG_6448
ohdeer

wwudeer2

3 thoughts on “Morning Settles

  1. Beautiful. And then……this is my life. Every changing, knowing Who is consistent, keeping safe in His arms and love. Hugs Emily

    Like

  2. Yes…even the mistakes and false judgments and lost love I want back…for second chances and new beginnings

    Like

Leave a Reply

