The Humblest Things

chestnutbloom1

dandy430164

The power of finding beauty in the humblest things makes home happy and life lovely.
~Louisa May Alcott

walnutowl

And as you sit on the hillside, or lie prone under the trees of the forest, or sprawl wet-legged on the shingly beach of a mountain stream, the great door, that does not look like a door, opens.
~Stephen Graham from The Gentle Art of Tramping

That great door opens on the present, illuminates it as with a multitude of flashing torches.
~Annie Dillard (in response to the above quote) from Pilgrim at Tinker Creek

tjoelkerbarn

leaningtree

mushrooms103115

Ever since I started noticing
how beautiful are the most humble things
and the most humble people,
I realized the great door opened to me
is the door of my own home
and my own happiness.
I need go no further than my own back yard.

wwupinks1

willow9

3 thoughts on “The Humblest Things

Leave a Reply

