Abiding

sunset5716

dandysunsetclose3

Through cloud and sunshine, Lord, abide with me.
~Henry Lyte, from the hymn “Abide with Me”

lotsofsnow

Forgive me if I forget
with the birdsong and the day’s
last glow folding into the hands
of the trees, forgive me the few
syllables of the autumn crickets,
the year’s last firefly winking
like a penny in the shoulder’s weeds,
if I forget the hour, if I forget
the day as the evening star
pours out its whiskey over the gravel
and asphalt I’ve walked
for years alone, if I startle
when you put your hand in mine,
if I wonder how long your light
has taken to reach me here.
~Jake Adam York “Abide”

waterdrop

On my tiniest days,
when I am no more
than a dew drop
on the fingertip of a glass blade,
as transient as life feels,
we will walk hand in hand,
alongside
~abiding~
in Him whose Light reaches out
even to our depths.

morning113157

3 thoughts on “Abiding

  1. Oh, yes, dear Emily….that LIGHT: warming; comforting in its faithful presence; illuminating, to show us the path ahead to alert us to unseen obstacles to avoid; sometimes so bright so as to shield us from harm. He truly is The Light of the World – The Eternal Light of the Universe – the homing beacon to all who travel on this earthly Journey.

    Like

  2. I will always remember singing “Abide With Me”, harmonizing at my dad’s side in song together at my mother’s funeral (she was my second mother and his second wife laid to rest)…and so we abide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

