A Fling of Slim Thread

dandyweb

Perhaps imagination’s only a fling
of slim thread, so that Mind can walk
its own tightrope, also the heart—
in Chinese the word for mind
and the word for heart is the same.
~Margaret Gibson from “Middle Distance, Morning”

webleash

Till the bridge you will need be form’d, till the ductile anchor hold,
Till the gossamer thread you fling catch somewhere, O my soul.
~Walt Whitman from “A Noiseless Patient Spider”

whitehearts

sunset51116

The spider, dropping down from twig,
Unfolds a plan of her devising,
A thin premeditated rig
To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,
In cool descent and loyal hearted,
She spins a ladder to the place
From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do
In spider’s web a truth discerning,
Attach one silken thread to you
For my returning.
~E.B. White “Natural History”

cottonwood

Attached in ways I can not always see
but surely feel,
I still tend to go astray,
wander afar,
lose my way,
yet the thread remains
to return me
to where I belong.
A silken umbilical cord
continues to pump
what I need to stay alive,
anchoring me,
releasing me without letting go.
My soul hangs
by this gossamer thread~
this silken connection
to eternity.
~EPG
webdesign11

dandy430165

4 thoughts on “A Fling of Slim Thread

  1. I just wanted you to know that I believe your WordPress is exactly what I need, in this season of my life…as a christian, wife and mama.
    I am so looking forward to reading and viewing the photography.
    I thank you, so much !!

    Like

  2. Your words today re the gossamer thread, Emily, are a beautiful metaphor, pertinent to many things that bind us humans – and our Creator God together. I have used its lovely meaning to describe my feelings toward someone whom I love dearly.
    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

