What I Did Not Know

IMG_9018

rockvine

mejierface

For grace to be grace, it must give us things we didn’t know we needed and take us places where we didn’t know we didn’t want to go.
~Kathleen Norris

 

His grace and mercy have salvaged me
when I didn’t know I needed saving,
given me what I didn’t think I needed
so have never asked for,
and taken me where I never planned to be
because I was so comfortable where I was.

Grace is not about giving me what I want;
it is not reward for following the rules,
being good or staying out of trouble.
It is rescue from a fate of meaningless,
a gift of God’s heart buoying my weakness
when I deserve nothing whatsoever.

This grace is a prickly vine I must cling to,
grateful to be spared from falling.
It is a overwhelming flow that carries me to safety
through the desolate landscape.

I am grateful,
so very grateful,
for what I did not know
I needed to know.

IMG_9017

mejierwaterfall

meijer1.

5 thoughts on “What I Did Not Know

  1. “grateful for what I did not know I needed to know….when I didn’t know I needed saving….”

    All this — the quiet miracle, the gift of our omniscient God – given freely, together with unconditional love….we are wealthy beyond all human understanding….

    Like

  2. Thank you again for the beauty found in your photographs and that you bother. I appreciate you and your efforts.

    I would love to know what the statues represent, particularly the ones I believe are a negro man?

    Thank you also for a different look at grace, it gives me some wonderful ‘fodder’ for meditation.

    Bless you in today,

    Susan

    Susan Joy Daniel 0412 004 482 Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

