Gayety of Stride

image
Photo by Joel DeWaard

imageimageevening612163

It’s the immemorial feelings
I like the best: hunger, thirst,
their satisfaction; work-weariness,
earned rest; the falling again
from loneliness to love;
the green growth the mind takes
from the pastures in March;
the gayety in the stride 
of a good team of Belgian mares
that seems to shudder from me
through all my ancestry.
~Wendell Berry “Goods”

No one can say I haven’t worked hard enough.

Pulling on the tugs, pushing into the yoke that I willingly allowed to weigh me down,

my ancestry birthed me for this hard work weariness.

But they might say I have lost the gayety in my stride, having hit too many rocks and run head-long into stumps.

They might say the joy lies deeper than my plow can reach.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Gayety of Stride

  1. I wish I could give you a warm hug. Your words mean so much to me every day. I pray God’s blessing on you especially today.

    Like

  2. Precious introspection and perfect timing, with your natal day so near.

    (The picture of the Belgian mares is impressive. they are majestic animals.)

    Like

  3. Like the stumps and rocks of life, joy is always there, and always a surprise when our plow turns it up. More joy and fewer stumps this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

