Propping up the Darkness

sunset67166

sunset626164

Sometimes on summer evenings I step
Out of my house to look at trees
Propping darkness up to the silence.
~Paul Zimmer from “A Final Affection”

 

sunset714161

We spent 16 hours yesterday on a ferry going up the inside passage on the British Columbia coastal islands, witnessing whale spouts and splashes.  The backdrop consisted of millions of trees in pristine wilderness propping up the sky, the clouds, and the silence we disturbed.

Anywhere I go, I look to the trees and feel immediately among old friends.

image

image

2 thoughts on “Propping up the Darkness

  1. I’ve taken that route several times as I used to work not too far from Prince Rupert. What a beautiful trip! May you and your family have a wonderful time seeing the wonders of God’s Creation! And trees, what a precious gift!

    I share your joy in living in this area, especially in the summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

