Spending My Days Grazing

dawn12221

morning528151

Just past dawn, the sun stands
with its heavy red head
in a black stanchion of trees,
waiting for someone to come
with his bucket
for the foamy white light,
and then a long day in the pasture.
I too spend my days grazing,
feasting on every green moment
till darkness calls,
and with the others
I walk away into the night,
swinging the little tin bell
of my name.
~Ted Kooser “A Birthday Poem”

morningonthefarm

I usually go in to work on my birthday,
just a regular day most summers~
instead today decided to catch up
on weeding, reading and needing
a day of quiet:

To notice each blade of grass while grazing through the hours,
transformed by something so simple,
to be called as the time comes
to return to the barn
in fullness,
ready to give all I have until empty.

morning113157

sunset72516

11 thoughts on “Spending My Days Grazing

  1. It’s your birthday?  Well Happy Birthday!! And best wishes for a wonderful new year!Love,Victoria

    From: Barnstorming To: soaringblocks@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, July 26, 2016 10:10 AM Subject: [New post] Spending My Days Grazing #yiv1276258888 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1276258888 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1276258888 a.yiv1276258888primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1276258888 a.yiv1276258888primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1276258888 a.yiv1276258888primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1276258888 a.yiv1276258888primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1276258888 WordPress.com | briarcroft posted: “Just past dawn, the sun stands with its heavy red head in a black stanchion of trees, waiting for someone to come with his bucket for the foamy white light, and then a long day in the pasture. I too spend my days grazing, feasting on every gre” | |

    Like

  2. Emily…
    You, and your amazing photos/reflections, are a birthday gift to the world, with every post. Thank you – so grateful for your Presence here!
    P. S. You chose wisely in your day’s celebration…amen!!!

    Like

  3. Happy birthday Emily! So glad you replenished your spirit in celebration of your birth! You are truly a blessing!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday Emily. Thank you so much for sharing your life with me through your blog. You are an inspiration and mentor to me through these works of your hands.

    Like

Leave a Reply

