Taking Aim

479034_10200484525287946_768642156_o
photo by Josh Scholten

Aim for the chopping block. If you aim for the wood, you will have nothing. Aim past the wood, aim through the wood; aim for the chopping block.
~Annie Dillard from The Writing Life

Over four years ago, I decided to aim for the block daily on this website of reflections, as if words were wood and pictures were kindling.  I started storing up the wood of words and pictures, chopping away every day in case I’ll need this storehouse of fuel in the future.

I have ended up with a quite a pile of almost 2000 blog posts strewn about my feet due to my random chopping.  I’ve been drenched in sweat at times, and garnered my share of splinters, but I’m readying the pile for when the weather gets cold and the nights long.

It is not that the world needs another blog post or another book — I just need to keep aiming, keep chopping and keep my eye on the block, cutting through and past the wood.  This is something I do because I feel better when I do it, like the redemption of aching muscles after a hard work out.

My ax needs constant sharpening and I keep my aim focused.   The days are shortening.

28 thoughts on “Taking Aim

  1. I have been so blessed by your posts, and look forward to each one. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, the poems and the beautiful photos. Keep chopping!!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Emily. For your words, photo’s and keeping your eye on the chopping block. Working past the splinters…

    Like

  3. Emily, your impressive stewardship in spreading the Word as we have been asked to do as Christians is encouraging to behold. From the numerous Comments you continue to receive, it is obvious that you are reaching out far beyond your farm in Everson, Washington State and your physician’s mounting hospital responsibilities, with your words that teach, heal, and comfort untold others whom we will never meet but whom you have gathered in as members of your ‘community.’

    Loosely quoting Robert Frost, I pray that you have ‘miles to go before you sleep.’
    (And that you do, indeed, keep that ax sharpened.)

    I immediately thought of your ministry when I recently read Joseph Conrad’s quote from Lord Jim:
    “My task, which I am trying to achieve is, by the power of the written word,
    to make you hear, to make you feel — it is, before all, to make you see.”

    Like

  4. ditto to all above! i look forward to all your posts, as your shared thoughts always hit the mark. thanks for keeping it real and useful for the rest of us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

