A Curious Gladness

dandylight81416

daisypair

rose52916

Light splashed this morning
on the shell-pink anemones
swaying on their tall stems;
down blue-spiked veronica
light flowed in rivulets
over the humps of the honeybees;
this morning I saw light kiss
the silk of the roses
in their second flowering,
my late bloomers
flushed with their brandy.
A curious gladness shook me.
So I have shut the doors of my house,
so I have trudged downstairs to my cell,
so I am sitting in semi-dark
hunched over my desk
with nothing for a view
to tempt me
but a bloated compost heap,
steamy old stinkpile,
under my window;
and I pick my notebook up
and I start to read aloud
and still-wet words I scribbled
on the blotted page:
“Light splashed…”

I can scarcely wait till tomorrow
when a new life begins for me,
as it does each day,
as it does each day.
~Stanley Kunitz  “The Round”

wwubee

sunflower816

compostjanuary

It is too easy to be ground to a pulp by the little things, those worries that never seem to wane, sucking the gladness out of the day.  They become four dimensional and soon we’re enveloped within, losing all perspective on what got us out of bed to begin the day.

God is in these intricate details, whether the splash of light on a petal or the smell of rotting refuse and it is our job to notice.  It is tempting to look past His ubiquitous presence in all things, to seek out only the elegant grandeur of creation.   Yet even what lacks elegance from our limited perspective, is still worthy of His divine attention.

The time has come to be refreshed and renewed
even when surrounded by decay.
His care is revealed in the tiniest way.
He is worthy of my attention.

A new life begins for me,
as it does each day,
as it does each day.

gardenspot7

wwublackeyed

3 thoughts on “A Curious Gladness

  1. so perfect for me this day. in my newly acquired state of retirement, there is so much that needs to be done (paperwork), and so much i want done (sewing), and it is hard to find the right balance. i have to work at keeping my focus where it needs to be…in the Light and in the Word. the beautiful rose pic reminds me that it would not be beautiful if i did not tend it, and in that tending, the compost of life is laid down. thank you!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Emily for your most welcome introspection.
    Perhaps it is the fast pace of our lives, the perceived need to be aware of the so-called ‘big picture’ — everything, close by and ‘out there’ that causes us to miss the ‘little things,’ the very same things that our God notices and tries to get us to slow down, to look, to see with new eyes, to appreciate and to share….It is in doing that that we will begin to appreciate the dawning of each new day and maybe – just maybe – this day will be different because it may be the day that, through God’s Grace, we will make a difference in someone else’s life…. our ‘thank you’ gift to our Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

