A Thing With Feathers

feather3

feather2

feather6

feather4

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.
~Emily Dickinson
feather1
feather20
feather9
feather7
feather6

Our local fair feels much like I remember when I was a child in the 60’s, accompanying my father to the Lynden fairgrounds during those summers of political and social turmoil.  His job was to supervise the teachers of FFA kids (Future Farmers of America) so he did the rounds of the regional and county fairs and my brother and I tagged along to explore the exhibits and go on rides.

The heart beat of a country fair pulses deep for me: I fell in love with my future husband at a fair, and we spent twenty years from 1992-2012 at the local Lynden fair exhibiting our Haflinger horses together as family and friends. Once our children grew and flew away four years ago, my husband and I were relegated to mere fair-goers, exploring exhibits without the need to show up to muck out stalls at 6 AM.

As we walked through this year’s home made quilt exhibit (see my photos and post tomorrow), I marveled, as always, at the multifaceted and intricate designs, with a distinctly planned out mix and match of colors in each quiltmaker’s entry.
Only a short stroll away is the chicken exhibit building, one of the same buildings I wandered through as a child over fifty years ago.  As we entered, it struck me that here too I was admiring designs and color schemes, layered with nuance and texture, just like the quilts — the feathers are God’s threads put to exquisite use to blanket a mere chicken.
So much design, so much detail, so much hope covers something as mere as me.
feather5
feather165
feather13
feather8
feather14
feathers1
barn owl and woodpecker feathers found on our farm this week

5 thoughts on “A Thing With Feathers

  1. I was at our local fair a few weeks ago.
    I too found beauty in the bird building.
    I took pictures of some of the roosters’ heads.
    Just beautiful.
    The other day,
    I was visiting our neighbors and observed the beauty of the feathers on one of their roosters.
    Nature…so full of color, design. and beauty all around.
    Linda

    Like

  2. Love the post, love the photos. The lines, the colors and texture…I see another quilt in the making. Fabrics at least.

    Like

  3. Love HOPE & feathers. I have s pile along with piles of sea glass & rocks. Yes, I’m a piler! The poetry is the best. Keeping HOPE alive along the Enchanted Way! 🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

