Floodlit

sistersmoon81616 sunset81616

dandylight2

It is not physical beauty,
nor temporal glory,
nor the brightness of light so dear to earthly eyes,
nor the sweet melodies of all kinds of songs,
nor the gentle odor of flowers or ointments or perfumes,
nor manna, nor honey,
nor limbs welcoming the embraces of the flesh.
It is not these things I love when I love my God.

Yet there is a light I love,
and a food,
and a kind of embrace when I love my God.
A light, voice, odor, food,
embrace of my innerness,
where my soul is floodlit by light which space cannot contain,
where there is sound that time cannot seize,
where there is perfume which no breeze disperses,
where there is a taste for food no amount of eating can satisfy,
where there is a bond of union that no satiety can part.
That is what I love, when I love my God.
~Augustine of Hippo

summertable

zinniacenter

God designed His creation as a reflection of His Being. We and everything around us are the image bearers — even in our heart of darkness we are floodlit by a goodness overflowing our soul’s capacity.

We are in His spotlight; we are floodlit.

moonrise819

moonrisebaker

3 thoughts on “Floodlit

  1. Everything in today’s post is beyond ‘beautiful’ : both the enhancing photography that becomes a startlingly accurate backdrop and Augustine’s and your words, Emily. For me to add a Comment would disturb the sacredness of all that is before me in print and in picture. So, I back away in silence because I recognize when I have come upon holy ground….and all that I want to do is to ‘remove my shoes’ and allow my soul to savor and retain the moment….

    Like

  2. Wow, Emily…both the photos, the words, the Augustine poem, and your reflections on “Floodlit” express so well what my soul feels. Thank you for giving words to that feeling!

    Like

Leave a Reply

