Hardly a Waste

northcounty2

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur
of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.”
– John Lubbock

pinknight1

 

As a child I liked to go out far into our hay field and find the tallest patch of grass.  There, like a dog turning circles before a nap,  I’d trample down the tall waving stems that stretched up almost to my eyes, and create a grass nest, just cozy enough for me.  I’d sit or lie down in this green fortress, gazing up at the blue sky, and watch the clouds drift lazily by.  I’d suck on a hollow stem or two, to savor the bitter grass juice.  Scattered around my grassy cage, looking out of place attached to the broad grass stems, would be innumerable clumps of white foam.  I’d tease out the hidden green spit bugs with their little black eyes from their white frothy bubble encasement.   I hoped to watch them spit, to actually see them in action, but they would leap away.

The grassy nest was a time of retreat from the world by being buried within the world.  I felt protected, surrounded, encompassed and free –at least until I heard my mother calling for me from the house, or a rain shower started, driving me to run for cover, or my dog found me by following my green path.

It has been years since I hid in a grass fort or tried to defoam spit bugs.   I am overdue, I’m sure. It is hardly a waste to rest encased in the bubble wrap of the world.

grassmay15

northcounty4

pinkbaker4

northcounty3

grassmay16

4 thoughts on “Hardly a Waste

  1. Thank you, Emily, for this reminder at just the time I needed it. May you be blessed with time for rest in the Lord’s good creation before the busy academic year begins anew.

    Like

  2. I love the new photo of the barn and surrounding area. Your gnome on the swing, your horse on the weathervane, the autumn leafed trees and the snow dusted mountains beyond. New vistas are always good. Thank you!

    Like

  3. Don’t know if it’s the stubborn Gael in me or my 83 years but I seem to react very slowly to change. My initial impression of the new format was exciting. Then I
    kind of lost my way a little, looking for familiar sections. I agree with Christine Perica, however, that ‘New vistas are always good.’ And if there is one thing at which Barnstorming excels it is the use of spectacular vistas and unforgettable pics, making the reader believe that she/he is ‘right there’ at Emily’s family’s farm and homestead. Just like visiting an old, familiar friend. But one thing will NEVER change and that is the giving, understanding heart of Emily Polis Gibson who shares her faith journey with us, giving us a retrospective look at our past and a Spirit-filled hope for our future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

