A Silken Ladder

morningweb2

morningweb7

The spider, dropping down from twig,
Unfolds a plan of her devising,
A thin premeditated rig
To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,
In cool descent and loyal hearted,
She spins a ladder to the place
From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do
In spider’s web a truth discerning,
Attach one silken thread to you
For my returning.
~E.B. White “Natural History”

webhole4

wetweb2

No matter where I go to complete farm chores this time of year, I’m getting a face full of spider web and often a spider or two or three in my hair.  The spinners are very busy in the night dropping from rafters and branches, leaping courageously into uncharted territory with only their thread as rescue cable.

I am not so brave as they, nor as diligent.  Instead, I’m lollygagging in the art gallery of their fine work,  simply appreciating the abundant crop of silken ladders and hammocks, while trying not to destroy them.

I’m drawn back morning after morning to see what they’ve caught and how well they endure.  As long as I keep my face out of their masterpiece, all is well.

All is well.

morningweb9

webdew2

webdesign11

webdrizzle2

3 thoughts on “A Silken Ladder

  1. Spider webs have always been such a beautiful mystery to me with their uniquely individual designs…wonder what their tensile strength is…

    Like

  2. Beautiful photos. I do remember walking thru webs on my way to a meter down by a pond. I started going early in the morning so I could see the webs with the dew dripping off them. They were huge spiders and the many webs were always my face high. Very thick webs and the first time I had my face covered will remain in my memory bank. Hehee

    Like

Leave a Reply

