On This Surge of Hill

morning113159

pinknightclouds2

Here, on this surge of hill, I find myself
not as I am or will be or once was,
not as the measure of days defines my soul;
beyond all that a being of breath and bone,
partaker of wind and sun and air and earth,
I stand on the surge of hill and know myself
Below, the stars sink landward, and above
I breathe with their slow glimmer; fields are gone,
the woods are fallen into the speechless dark;
no claim, no voice, no motion, no demand.
It is alone we end then and alone
we go, creatures of solitary light;
the finger of truth is laid upon my heart:
See and be wise and unafraid, a part
of stars and earth-wind and the deepening night.
~Jane Clement

morning113157

I don’t do alone well.  Never have.  I’ve always preferred plenty of activity around me, planning gatherings, and filling days to the brim.  Very little of my day is spent by myself and I designed it that way.  But once in a while there comes a time when I must quiet myself, be still, and simply be, with no agenda.  With our children grown and gone, this is happening more often than I prefer even though the love of my life and I often commute to work together, eat meals together, spend our evenings and nights together.  It is just so much … quieter now.  So quiet.

Typically I don’t prefer my own company but I’m slowly learning the lessons of spending time alone.  There is no glossing over my flaws nor distracting myself from where I fall short.  Alone is an unforgiving mirror reflecting back what I have kept myself too busy to see. It is going beyond all that a being of breath and bone can become.

Slowly but surely I sit within my own skin more comfortably, gaze out through 62 year old eyes attached to an over-capacity brain and begin to appreciate thinking random uninterrupted thoughts as they occur to me, as the finger of truth is laid upon my heart. 

I might even decide I’m fit company for myself.   Maybe someday.  Probably not today.

Anyone up for a cup of coffee?

My treat.

 

evening1151514

sunset72516

 

5 thoughts on “On This Surge of Hill

  1. You called it, Emily, about the aloneness (solitude). I am the direct opposite of you and seem to need it that way. Your preference for seeming to enjoy being in the thick of things, with others around, or maybe with just one or two speaks well of the effects on your chosen ministries – your family, your profession, and your writings – on this blog and on others.
    The fruits certainly prove that you have chosen well.

    The scenes you have chosen for today’s message have been aptly chosen — the in-between ,hazy, mysterious place of there and not quite there, of dreams and reality past and present, between heaven and earth. when perhaps the Spirit is passing by blessing what has been and what will be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

