Fading Away

rainbowfarm

fog101934

1239963_829259221140_1054885495_n
photo by Kate Steensma

sunset92horses3

Through the ample open door of the peaceful country barn,
A sun-lit pasture field, with cattle and horses feeding;
And haze, and vista, and the far horizon, fading away.
~Walt Whitman “A Farm-Picture”

morning528151

foggymorning13115

When the light rises on the hills,
slowly fading the haze of a late summer morning,
I feel the veil lift enough
that I am able to see
far beyond my reach or grasp.
The horizon extends on and on forever
and I will endure another descent into winter.

pastureoctober1

goldenhaze

morningonthefarm

morning7616

2 thoughts on “Fading Away

  1. And here where I live (102° tomorrow), I see cold winter days the time I can work on a quilt. The farm work on hold until spring. And if the power goes out, I have plenty of handwork to do. Yes, I did work out in the elements for 32 years, rain or 100+ sunshine. I thought fall was almost here, then this last burst of heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

