Send Our Roots Rain

redsquare

Justus quidem tu es, Domine, si disputem tecum; verumtamen
justa loquar ad te: Quare via impiorum prosperatur? (Jeremiah 12)

Thou art indeed just, Lord, if I contend
With thee; but, sir, so what I plead is just.
Why do sinners’ ways prosper? and why must
Disappointment all I endeavour end?
    Wert thou my enemy, O thou my friend,
How wouldst thou worse, I wonder, than thou dost
Defeat, thwart me? Oh, the sots and thralls of lust
Do in spare hours more thrive than I that spend,
Sir, life upon thy cause. See, banks and brakes

Now, leavèd how thick! lacèd they are again
With fretty chervil, look, and fresh wind shakes
Them; birds build — but not I build; no, but strain,
Time’s eunuch, and not breed one work that wakes.

Mine, O thou Lord of life, send my roots rain
~Gerard Manley Hopkins  “Thou art indeed just, Lord”

rainstorm

As I look out through a tear-streaked window at the beginning of this dark day,
I feel inadequate to the task before me.

Parched and struggling patients will line my schedule in weeks to come;
they are anxious and already weary and barren, seeking something, anything
to ease their distress in a hostile world.
Preferably an easy pill to swallow.
Nothing that hurts going down.

While others thrive around them,
they wilt and wither, wishing to die.

Lord of Life, equip me to find the words to say that might help.
May it be about more than
genetics, neurotransmitters and physiology.

In this dry season for young lives,
send your penetrating rain to reach them
and those who guide them.
Reach down and shake our roots fiercely
to slake our continual thirst.

1031drops7

3 thoughts on “Send Our Roots Rain

  1. I hear the despair in your words this morning, doctor. I sense the expressed inadequacy to meet your young patient’s needs–troubles so unique and varied, and all the same. But God’s invitation yet lingers. The Psalmist: “Call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor Me.” I believe your attitude already has, and It remains your great privilege, good doctor. to, like the Great Physician, literally ease pain from the world. Godspeed.

    PRH

    Like

  2. He has equipped you mightily and continues to feed your soul, Emily, so that you, in turn, will reach out to discern your young patients’ needs and to nurture them accordingly. .

    Like

Leave a Reply

