Blazing Silo

fullsizerender-3

saturdaylight2

Blue poured into summer blue,
A hawk broke from his cloudless tower,
The roof of the silo blazed, and I knew
That part of my life was over.
 
Already the iron door of the north
Clangs open: birds, leaves, snows
Order their populations forth,
And a cruel wind blows.
~Stanley Kunitz from “End of Summer”
poplartrees
geese913
poplarwind

Transitions, like summer fading to fall, are jarring.  The silo of my life has thrown open its doors and the north winds start to blow.

I used to float the top of the grain flow more smoothly than I do now, believing I had control over the speed and course and ultimate destination.

I know better now.

Time carries me relentlessly down its silo, dunking me under its contents, only to surface breathless to gulp down what air I can before I go under again.
Each day I must admit a small part of my life is over, and each year I must admit the bulk of my life is over.  The silo of time empties bit by bit, its hollowness echoing in my ears.
I hope the harvest will have fed others well.
fallmorning
sunset917164
rainbow92016

One thought on “Blazing Silo

  1. i can so understand and identify with this sentiment. being 63 and newly retired from teaching, i look around and see the ‘stuff’ of my like. my husband does this, too. we have raised children who are believers, and their children as well. our sons-in-law were also raised this way. we wonder about our legacy to all of them. we have shown them the way of faith, and they are passing that on. as we will fail and need their help at some point, we have great comfort in knowing our “grain” has provided them all with the nourishment they have needed in this world. His promise that it will not return void is such a blessing to us. take heart, sweet emily, for it is abundantly clear that your grain has nourished not only your children, but many, many others, from the students you see to the blogs your write, and beyond. i am sooo thankful to know Him better, and you, because you dare to share Him with others!!! rich blessings to you, and those who are nourished by the GRAIN!

    Like

Leave a Reply

