Visions of Mountains

shuksan102161

shuksan102169
He found himself wondering at times, especially in the Autumn, about the wild lands, and strange visions of mountains that he had never seen came into his dreams. He began to say to himself ‘Perhaps I shall cross the river myself one day.’ To which the other half of his mind always replied ‘Not yet.’

~J.R.R. Tolkien — Frodo in Fellowship of the Rings

artistpoint8

When you live in Whatcom County, as we do, it is possible to cross the river (several times) over 90 minutes of two lane highway switchbacks to arrive in these wild lands, breathless and overcome by majesty.

Visions of mountains from our dreams become an overwhelming 360 degree reality.

God touches every square inch of earth as if He owns the place, and He does, but these square inches are particularly marked by His artistry.  It is a place to feel awed by His magnificence.

As we crossed the river to return home last night, I was left to wonder, much like Tolkien’s Frodo pondering of wild land dreams, what bridges God is building to bring us back home to Him.

bakerartistpoint

tablemountain

shuksan1021614

(these are photos I took yesterday of Mt. Shuksan from Heather Meadows and Picture Lake, as well as Mt. Baker and Table Mountain from Artist Point)

11 thoughts on “Visions of Mountains

  1. Emily, the awesome beauty of our Creator-God’s gifts in nature that surround you in all seasons has already brought you halfway to heaven.
    And your striking God-given gifts as a photographer and as sharer of His Word and Wisdom do the same for us, your readers and for all who inhabit
    your ‘people world.’….
    Thank you for both,

    Love and Blessings,
    Alice

    Like

  2. I just came along your post from Ann voskamps page. I love the pictures so beautiful. I was really cool that they are taken in Whatcom county. My sister lives in Bellingham and my parents and I are moving up there soon as our house sells to be near her and the grandkids. I cant wait to explore these beautiful places.

    Like

  3. I spent the last 2 years of my high school in Auburn, WA, and totally fell in love with the Pacific NW, and Mt.. Rainier, which I could see from my dorm window. Every place has it’s own special beauty . . . and what speaks to us, and what we respond to, makes us, and can certainly vary from time to time in our lives. Thank you for sharing this beauty!

    Like

  4. When I saw these beautiful pictures of Mt. Shuksan it brought back many memories of my childhood in Western Washington. Beautiful photography.

    Like

Leave a Reply

