The World, Moist and Beautiful

14524620_10209826820934892_1110965281285556055_o
photo of Goat Mountain in the North Cascades courtesy of Kris Carlson
14481898_10209826818494831_362151031103082346_o
photo of Goat Mountain in the North Cascades, courtesy of Kris Carlson

 

And that is just the point… how the world, moist and beautiful, calls to each of us to make a new and serious response. That’s the big question, the one the world throws at you every morning. “Here you are, alive. Would you like to make a comment?
~Mary Oliver

octoberdogwood

octoberyard4

Some mornings it is impossible to stay a silent and passive observer of the world.  It demands a response.

The overnight wind and rain have pulled down nearly every leaf, the ground is carpeted with the dying evidence of last spring’s rebirth, the dropping temperatures have robed the surrounding foothills in vibrant color and the peaks in a bright new snow covering.

There can be no complacency in witnessing this startling transition in progress.   It blusters, rips, drenches, encompasses, buries. Nothing remains as it was.

And here I am, alive.
Awed.
Responding.

webs7

morning102162

 

 

3 thoughts on “The World, Moist and Beautiful

  1. Emily,almost every time I real your posts, I think, “This is the BEST ONE YET.” But I think THIS ONE REALLY IS.
    I was looking out my window at our dogwood tree in her shades of reds and greens. The leaves have only recently started dropping, so as I looked at the few bare twigs, I saw the buds already formed for next springs’ showing. I love how God does that. It’s a symbol of hope and faith.

    Like

  2. Mary tells us in her lovely poem that “…the world…calls to each of us to make a new and serious response… here you are, alive. Would you like to make a comment?”
    Emily responds, “And here I am, Alive. Awed. Responding.
    Alice responds, “Here I am, alive, and responding.”

    I looked at today’s posting a little differently perhaps. I read the message(s) in view of the cataclysmic world events that continue to increase in savagery and in frequency. That spoke to me of the desperate need for discipleship, for ‘workers in the Lord’s vineyard.’ The need is for witnesses and for helpers ready and willing to commit to using their God-given gifts to make a difference… The need is great. It is late in our ‘day.’ Time is short.

    Consider:
    The Call to Isaiah (6:8) NIV
    “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send? Who will go for us? I said, ‘send me!’ ”

    Mt. (9:37-38) NIV
    “Then he [Jesus] said to his disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few; so ask the Master of the harvest to send out workers into his field.’ ”

    John (4:35) NIV
    “I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for the harvest. ”

    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

