Preparing the Heart: Knit to Man’s Nature

knittogether

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
    a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
    a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
    a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
    a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
    a time for war and a time for peace.
Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8

adventwreath171

Tomorrow shall be my dancing day
I would my true love did so chance, to see
the legend of my play to call my true love to dance

Chorus:
Song Oh my love, oh my love, my love, my love
This have I done for my true love

Then was I born of a virgin pure
of her I took fleshly substance,
thus was I knit to man’s nature

To call my true love to my dance.

(Chorus)

In a manger laid, and wrapped I was
So very poor, this was my chance
Betwixt an ox and a silly poor lamb
To call my true love to my dance.

(Chorus)

Then up to heaven I did ascend,
Where now I dwell in sure substance
On the right hand of God, that man
May come unto the general dance.

(Chorus)

Sing O my love, O my love___
This have I done for my true love.
~Traditional English Carol

I danced in the morning when the world was young
I danced in the moon and the stars and the sun
I came down from heaven and I danced on the earth
At Bethlehem I had my birth

Chorus: Dance, dance, wherever you may be
I am the lord of the dance, said he
And I lead you all, wherever you may be
And I lead you all in the dance, said he

I danced for the scribes and the Pharisees
They wouldn’t dance, they wouldn’t follow me
I danced for the fishermen James and John
They came with me so the dance went on

Chorus

I danced on the Sabbath and I cured the lame
The holy people said it was a shame
They ripped, they stripped, they hung me high
Left me there on the cross to die

Chorus

I danced on a Friday when the world turned black
It’s hard to dance with the devil on your back
They buried my body, they thought I was gone
But I am the dance, and the dance goes on

Chorus

They cut me down and I leapt up high
I am the life that will never, never die
I’ll live in you if you’ll live in me
I am the Lord of the dance, said he

Chorus
~Sydney Carter

Chorus: Dance and sing this happy day,
Christ is born the Son of Mary
Dance and sing all care away,
Let us all our homage pay.

Born today of David’s line
To the earth our Saviour cometh
Shepherds see the angel’s sign
Born today is the Child Divine

Chorus

Christ is come to set us free
From the curse of sin’s dominion,
From the yoke of tyranny
He is come our Lord to be.

Chorus

Ox and ass before Him fall,
With the shepherds humbly kneeling
There before the lowly stall,
There before the Lord of all.

Chorus

Hail, thou wondrous star so bright,
In the winter sky appearing,
Leading on with steadfast light
Eastern monarchs thro’ the night.
Chorus

Come, thou long expected Son,
Springing from the stem of Jesse,
Come thou ever blessed One,
Here on earth Thy will be done.

Chorus

~Traditional French Carol (Il Est Ne)

Leave a Reply

