Another Day

dogtreefog

16708697_10154962667336119_426542769079167553_n
moon rise to the east

Here dies another day
During which I have had eyes, ears, hands
And the great world round me;
And with tomorrow begins another.
Why am I allowed two?
~G.K. Chesterton

snowglow3

snowglowfarm

Even on a Saturday,
usually catch-up on
everything I didn’t get done at work this week,
or cleaning house or barn at home,
instead today is spent
in state-mandated training
on suicide assessment and care.

Even though twenty times every day
I ask someone:
can tell me about your thoughts about ending your life?

Even so~~
there is more to learn
and to teach others.

I’ve been allowed
another day
to do my best
to be present
and maybe as this day dies
there will come
another
when I can help someone
choose to live another day.

sunrise129172

16708432_10154961208266119_4799874826825331068_n

7 thoughts on “Another Day

  1. Even your gnome is looking forward to another day after his frozen escapade. He is thankful. Thanks Emily.

    Barb Tinklenberg 303-349-1083

    Like

  2. These emails bless me so much! Thanks for being about life! There was a time in my past (many desperate moons ago, when I thought I wanted to die)!.
    God bless you for offering hope and help!
    PS I now love living and am happy with my simple little life.❤

    Like

  3. If we can but get this one point across to one who is contemplating suicide: There are those who you will hurt, because they think more of you than you do of yourself. Everyone has worth. All that God makes is good. Even us.
    For those who are so tragically caught in self-absorption; a way of therapy and eventual cure is to seek out another who needs your attention and care. No better feeling is there than to know that someone else is better because of you.
    In the process of saving another one may very well save oneself.
    -Alan

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a beautiful way of describing the innate, precious value of human life and our responsibility to each other in defending and helping those in emotional distress who may be considering ending their life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

