The Plainest of Ash

sunset121173

What a piece of work is a man!
And yet, to me, what is this quintessence of dust?”
~ William Shakespeare in Hamlet’s monologue 

sunset216171

This dust left of man:

earth, air, water and fire
prove inadequate
to quell the significance
of how we were made of dust
and the dust we will leave behind.

Only the transcendent hope
of eternal life restored
can breathe glory
into this, us,
the plainest of ash.

sunrise217171

 

We therefore commit his body to the ground;
earth to earth, ashes to ashes, dust to dust;

in sure and certain hope of the Resurrection to eternal life,
through our Lord Jesus Christ;

who shall change our vile body,
that it may be like unto his glorious body…

~Committal service from The Common Book of Prayer

sunset121172

 

What I know for sure is this: We come from mystery and we return to mystery. I arrived here with no bad memories of wherever I’d come from, so I have no good reason to fear the place to which I’ll return.

And I know this, too: Standing closer to the reality of death awakens my awe at the gift of life.
~Parker Palmer “On the Brink of Everything

 

3 thoughts on “The Plainest of Ash

  1. And I hear the words, “I’ve prepared you for this”. As my dear Eli’s soul had left, our 4 children and I sat around him in our living room; we played Chris Tomlin’s Come to Jesus. And that said so much to each of us…fly to jesus and live.
    Thank you Emily, healing words, and reminders of a larger job that remains for each of us on earth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

