My Favorite Day

sunrise214177

“‘What day is it?’, asked Winnie the Pooh.
‘It’s today,’ squeaked Piglet.
‘My favorite day,’ said Pooh.”
~A.A. Milne from The Adventures of Winnie the Pooh

baker11317

sunrise129171

Saturday is usually everyone’s favorite day of the week: it’s usually sleep-in day, catch-up day, play-hard day, enjoy-everything-about-it day.

Yup, me too.

A day to meander, gaze off into the horizon, acknowledge one’s blessings and then fall asleep blissful in the food bowl.

pigmeal

Saturday is the one day of the week I keep unplanned from start to finish with no particular choreography or have-to places to go.

Just a day to be.

I know Pooh and Piglet are right.  Any day is our favorite day simply because it is Today: a new start, a time to celebrate, an undeserved gift of time to be unwrapped the moment our eyes open in the morning.

Today. A time to be.

sunset121174

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Day

  1. Thank you, Emily, for your post today. It was especially appropriate for me since today is my birthday!
    Our loving Lord’s blessings to you,
    Carol

    Like

  2. A great day for a game of “poohsticks” or, to go looking for Small. Or, to do nothing particular at all. And nothing is what I do best. Three cheers for nothing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

