Turn Aside and Look: What Shall I Cry?

snowybarn8

“I alternate between thinking of the planet as home
– dear and familiar stone hearth and garden –
and as a hard land of exile in which we are all sojourners.”
~Annie Dillard from Teaching a Stone To Talk

canadians23417

A voice says, “Cry out.”
    And I said, “What shall I cry?”

“All people are like grass,
    and all their faithfulness is like the flowers of the field.
The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    because the breath of the Lord blows on them.
    Surely the people are grass.
The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    but the word of our God endures forever.”
~Isaiah 40:6-8

drizzlesnowdrop

And what shall I cry?

I find it very difficult to admit I am as temporary as a rain drop a flower, a mere mirrored reflection of this incredible place where I dwell.  I want so badly for it to last, I want it etched in stone, I want to be remembered beyond the next generation, I want not to be lost to the ether.

Yet I, like everyone, am sojourner only, not settled and certainly not lasting.   As a garden flourishes and then dies back, so will I.  This is exile in the wilderness until I am led back home.

Home.  Really home. No longer fading and withering.

Forever etched on His heart, held fast in His Hand,
His Word enduring far beyond my flesh.

 

baker3417

 

All flesh is like the grass
The grass withers and fades away.
All flesh is like the grass
The grass withers and fades away.
The glory of man like a flower
That shrivels in the sun and falls.
The glory of man like a flower
That shrivels in the sun and falls.
But the Word of the Lord
Endures forever.
~Fernando Ortega

3 thoughts on “Turn Aside and Look: What Shall I Cry?

  1. You are bringing me such solace, kind friend with your words and music as I face a heart cath later this next week. Thank you for pointing us toward Heaven and Home.

    Like

  2. Oh, Yes:
    ‘…forever etched on His Heart, held fast in His Hand, His Word enduring far beyond [our] flesh….
    A belief, a sacred assurance so simply stated yet so magnificent in its reality, its promise, its hope — the ultimate key to our survival in this, our temporary home, as we prepare to spend Eternity with Him…..
    Thank you, Emily

    Like

Leave a Reply

