All That Was Me is Gone

northpeaks
foothillsunset73117
Sing me a song of a lad that is gone,
Say, could that lad be I?
Merry of soul he sailed on a day
Over the sea to Skye.
Give me again all that was there,
Give me the sun that shone!
Give me the eyes, give me the soul,
Give me the lad that’s gone!
Sing me a song of a lad that is gone,
Say, could that lad be I?
Merry of soul he sailed on a day
Over the sea to Skye.
Billow and breeze, islands and seas,
Mountains of rain and sun,
All that was good, all that was fair,
All that was me is gone.
~Robert Louis Stevenson from “Sing Me a Song of a Lad That is Gone”
13582040_10209847969305847_7694704282789970999_o
photo of San Juan Islands by Joel deWaard

 

Do we recognize ourselves as we journey through life, at first lighthearted and merry, but with each stumble, disappointment and wound, become more embittered and wary?

All that was me is gone?

To where to we flee in this sorry world?

I want to cover my eyes and ears, to be shielded from the headlines, from the threats and the worries.

This is not our home.  Give me the soul; give me the Son that shone!

 

13568908_1331106450251998_5537218373532189485_o
photo of San Juan Islands by Joel DeWaard
sunset728171

3 thoughts on “All That Was Me is Gone

  1. as i have just thanked the Lord for my 64th birthday, i know what it feels like to have lost some of “me”. i am not the same person, as i struggle with some memory loss, i am reminded of what i used to be able to accomplish, and what i must contend with now. it is neither fun nor easy any more. i fight against it with what i know i can do, but the clock keeps ticking. it is a very hard realization. i try to keep my focus on God, knowing He knows me better than i do. i rejoice in knowing my hope and life is in Him…forever!! thank you again for your inspired words you share with us. you are a blessing!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Emily, for your heart-rending words that resonate precisely how I am feeling and have been for some time. I try to cut back on watching ‘news’ and ‘talking heads’ on TV; do not open certain Internet blogs; and just lightly scan print media to try to stem the deadness and fear that is enveloping my soul. By ignoring the reality that is occurring daily is futile. Such reactions to the insanity, the pernicious evil that is devouring and poisoning our world could be interpreted by some as ‘burying one’s head in the sand,’ or other ways of pretending that we and other nations are not facing a peril that we never envisioned would occur again. For the first time, perhaps, our ‘wall of false security has been weakened with the real danger that it could be breached. What is happening is NOT a Science Fiction movie that we can turn off at will. No such temporary solution(s) would be effective. The only answer to stem this tide of utter devastation is to fall on our knees, beseeching our Almighty God for His merciful, compassionate intervention — to soften the hearts and minds of all world leaders and lead them to a sense of reason and justice — and to bring all people to a sustained genuine repentance for the actions that are bringing our world to the gates of Hell.

    Joel DeWaard’s mystical dream-like pictures as seen in a delicate intimate haze add such visual emphasis to your doleful words, Emily.

    Maranatha! Maranatha, Lord Jesus!

    Like

Leave a Reply

