How to Waste Wisely My Days

focalpoint814171

 

This world, after all our science and sciences, is still a miracle;
wonderful, inscrutable, magical, and more,
to whosoever will think of it.

To awaken each morning with a smile brightening my face;
to greet the day with reverence for the opportunities it contains;
to approach my work with a clean mind;
to hold ever before me, even in the doing of little things,
the ultimate purpose toward which I am working;
to meet men and women with laughter on my lips and love in my heart;
to be gentle, kind, and courteous through all the hours;
to approach the night with weariness that ever woos sleep
and the joy that comes from work well done –
this is how I desire to waste wisely my days.
~Thomas Dekker, 16th century British playwright

 

qalmate

 

begoniawhite

 

I work hard at wasting my days wisely.  Summers are a classic opportunity to waste time and I do – happily – yet there is always a hint of regret that I could have made more of a bright clear morning, a sunny afternoon, or a full-moon night.

Yet how better to waste my days than to find ways for my work to be more joyous, if only through a smile, a shared chuckle, a kind word, a generous gesture.

Waste away, dear days.  The world, after all, is still a miracle and needs someone to notice.

 

sunsetrestored814171

 

barnsunset81417

 

Support for the Barnstorming Blog

Your financial support keeps this blog a daily offering and ad-free. A one-time contribution helps greatly.

$10.00

5 thoughts on “How to Waste Wisely My Days

  1. Consider me standing next to you, noticing, all the time. I have been meaning to comment on your gorgeous family post, too, and to say you give me such hope for the future, when these days of my children at home are over but our bonds remain strong. Thank you for holding a lamp for me on the path. xox

    Like

  2. Upbeat in so many ways. Restful, slowed-down summer days are so essential to our mental health – like ‘Spring cleaning’ for the soul.
    {Please identify the name of that spectacular white flower. I have never seen one like it. My immediate reaction to it was that it reminded me somewhat of the Chambered Nautilus – one of my favorite meditation helps.)
    Thank you, Emily, for visually reminding us of all God’s creative beauty that He provides for us to enjoy, to calm our souls. Wonder what the flowers and trees of Heaven look like….

    Like

Leave a Reply

